Complete beginner - Where do i start?

Gardening to 'grow your own food' from square foot to half an acre !!
lou
Legendary Laner

Complete beginner - Where do i start?

Post by lou »

Hello all, i cant keep a house plant alive but i want to start growing some veg in pots in the garden, we plan to move into the country and have a proper veggie patch so we need to get some practise in!
Dont really have the space at the mo to create a veg patch(what with the chicken coop/run and trampoline im running out of garden) so will it be ok to use tubs? Or have read somewhere about using the grow bag?

Im really a complete idiot with anything that grows so any advise would be lovely! Everything from what soil to watering!! I need the idiots guide...
"Happiness is making the most of what you have."
Rob_h
Lively Laner

Post by Rob_h »

It really depends what you want to grow - potatoes can be grown in tubs, as can many other veg such as lettuce, leaf salad, pak choi, beans and peas etc. Herbs such as parsley, chives and coriander grow very well in tubs. It may be worth investing in or building a cold frame to start younger plants off in to protect from frost. I am growing a wide range of veg this year but some are experiments such as butternut squash, aubergines, chilli peppers and pumpkins - haven't grown them before. A lot of it is trial and error.
rachell24
Lively Laner

Post by rachell24 »

Heres a link Im using to help me grow potatoes this year, first time at planting them, havnt got enough space in the beds so tubs it is. I have tried other veg in pots though, Ive got a book about growing fruit and veg in containers and its suprising what you can grow in relatively small pots. You might not get a massive amount but its still great to have a go.

http://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profiles05 ... espots.asp
Meanqueen
Legendary Laner

Post by Meanqueen »

Hi Lou