Spots on potato leaves

Gardening to 'grow your own food' from square foot to half an acre !!
stiggy
Lively Laner

Spots on potato leaves

Post by stiggy »

Hi,
I'm new to growing my own crops - in fact it's my wifes 'job' to do all the planting and growing...

...it's my 'job' to do all the digging, building and general groundsman etc....

...but I thought I'd ask - hope you don't mind a newbie asking for help straight away - but we have little rust/brown spots on our potato leaves... only small ones, but some leaves are covered in them.

I expect it'd be more useful to have a photo, I'll add one later when I go down to the house, but any ideas of what this could be?

I have been looking online, and all I can guess at would be a mineral deficiency like manganese or potasium?
Last edited by stiggy on 31 May 2008, 15:15, edited 1 time in total.
Mo
Legendary Laner

Post by Mo »

It might be the dreaded Potato Blight, cause of the Irish Famine.

There are things you can spray (copper based fungicides) but make sure you wear a face mask and don't breathe it in.

If it is blight you don't want the infection to get onto the spuds or they will go slimy and smelly and won't keep. So make sure you earth up well, remove dead leaves. When you harvest, cut off the tops and remove them carefully so that you don't shake the spores all over the tubers. Then look at them carefully,and use any you are doubtful about first.

If it isn't blight you'll get it later in the season, so do that anyway! Last year was bad,with all the wet weather.
stiggy
Lively Laner

Post by stiggy »

Hi again,
ok... I took a couple of photos in the hope I can pin this down to one thing that I can (hopefully) sort out before it's too late...

These are the small spots..

And this is what happens when it gets bad..

Pleeeease tell me I haven't lost my crop!?

Thanks for your help!

:-D
Meanqueen
Legendary Laner

Post by Meanqueen »