Old greenhouse

Gardening to 'grow your own food' from square foot to half an acre !!
naturaljazz
Learner Laner

Old greenhouse

Post by naturaljazz »

Hi, I have moved and there is an old greenhouse. It has stone walls, half below ground level, and metal framing. I need to replace a couple of panes, I am ok with that. I have emptied out all the rubbish, old lino and wood. It is all a bit damp and smelly. Any suggestions for cleaning? Should i use Jeyes? I plan to use the shelving for seeds, and maybe build up the earth floor into beds? I am new to this so any tips would be brilliant. Thank you Judith
Stef
Legendary Laner

Re: Old greenhouse

Post by Stef »

Hi, welcome to DTL.

I use Jayes for cleaning everything greenhouse related. So yes, it would be OK, just follow the instructions.

Then take it nice and slow, plant just one or two seeds, no, cancel that, it's silly

Go to this thread and add your name to the seed packet list. Then soonish you will get some packets of seeds you can practice with.

http://www.downthelane.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=35370&start=30

Then you could think about making your own diary thread and we could all laugh at you, sorry, help you as you give it a good whirl.... win the fruit and veg competition and generally be a whizz at growing your own :-D
1 dumbo rat still without a name; 2 top eared rats Octavia and Ursula
1 Rhode Rock, 1 Sussex Star, 1 Blue Ranger - The New Monochrome Set

My crafty blog, it's Frugal too http://relovedremnants.blogspot.co.uk/
Homemade
Legendary Laner

Post by Homemade »

Sounds like a lovely old greenhouse. Is it victorian? The half buried brickwork was a popular style then.
Quand je serai vieille je vais vivre en France
Sunny Clucker, she came, she saw, she moved on!
naturaljazz
Learner Laner

Post by naturaljazz »