Fresh(ish) manure?

Gardening to 'grow your own food' from square foot to half an acre !!
catralense
Learner Laner

Fresh(ish) manure?

Post by catralense »

Hiya

I've been given 3 bags of horse manure for my allotment. It looks a little fresh to me (not that I'm an expert seeing as I've never inspected horse poo before!) so is it OK to use? I know well rotted is the preference. I was hoping to put some in a trough then put some broad beans in to overwinter but is this a good idea with fresher manure?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I'm a brand new allotmenter so all advice is very welcome! :-D

Verity
Freeranger
Legendary Laner

Re: Fresh(ish) manure?

Post by Freeranger »

Hi Verity

I'm not the best person to be advising - I hope one of the others will answer this too, but mature manure will be a dry and crumbly texture and will smell either not at all or quite sweet. It's fine.

I'm not completely sure, but think if you had partially rotted manure, or warm soil in a sunny spot, you could put the manure in a trench with a layer of soil over to stop burning and then plant your beans. I have heard of folk putting unrotted veg in a trench and planting peas & beans, but guess that's not as nitrogen-rich as manure.

Anyone else able to help?
Spreckly
Legendary Laner

Post by Spreckly »

We have always put fresh horse poo (field at bottom of garden), on or in one of our compost bins to rot down, used the following season.
lancashire lass
Legendary Laner

Post by lancashire lass »