Rehoming animals

Dogs, Cats, Fish, Parrots, Horses, ALL Domestic Pets
Blanche
Learner Laner

Rehoming animals

Post by Blanche »

Hi
my name is maria it is my first time on the forum.
i am currently up dating my website to include chickens. you might of seen one of my chickens ( Blanche ) ? Her picture was posted to you all by mel ( melons ). She went in the chicken welfare section from the last rescue.

My question is
WHY REHOME AN ANIMAL FROM A RESCUE CENTRE vS PEDIGREE/NEW ?

I currently board all rodents, ferrets, rabbits and caged birds. im also looking in to boarding chickens ??? for people who are going on there holidays.
i have also taken in rescue animals myself and it is important to add this topic to my website, to encourage people to do the same but would like some feed back.
cheers maria
Tania
Lively Laner

Post by Tania »

Welcome Maria.

WHY REHOME AN ANIMAL FROM A RESCUE CENTRE vS PEDIGREE/NEW ?

In my opinion:
Pedigree/new animals are making money for the breeders, therefore they will (in most instances) protect their investment, however long it takes to find a buyer. The animal will be cared for and ultimately find a home.

Rescue animals have a much smaller chance of finding a home - particularly if they've had a bad start in life. If they are not rehomed quickly they become institutionalised (making it harder to find them a home) or scrapped (Put to sleep).

The only fate for ex-battery chickens, unless someone has offered a home to them in advance is to be sent to the slaughterhouse.

I am not against buying pedigree/new animals - I bought 4 Black Rock chickens. But if I hadn't bought them, someone else would have. I didn't know about ex-batts when I bought them.

My 3 ex-batts would now be in a pie or more probably tin of pet food if I hadn't known about the BHWT.