Installing a wood burning stove

Share projects, share problems, share tips amongst each other.
daisydancer
Learner Laner

Installing a wood burning stove

Post by daisydancer »

Hello, hopefully someone can point me in the right direction....

My husband is a forester by trade so he has unlimited access to waste wood, and we are looking to install a wood burning stove in our house. It had, just before we moved in last summer, a fully working coal fire which heated the house. For some reason the people thought it would be a great idea to punch holes in the back boiler, rip out the tank which heated water and radiators, install a thermaflow electric central heating system, and plaster over the hearth/ chimney and fit one of those fan heater/fake flame fire affairs. Our first electric bill for 5 weeks was £416..... {mr.angry} and this is on the economical rate apparently....Anyhow, we want to open up the plastered-up fire, and fit a wood burner. We were intending fitting the flue liner along with the stove, but someone has told us we could just use the existing chimney? I'm thinking a)it would burn more efficiently with a liner fitted and b) be more safe as the chimney breast goes through the bedroom and god knows how many chimney fires there have been over the years and cracks etc etc. Any thoughts?
Also, as my husband will be fitting the wood burner and liner, will he need to open the fire up, get the chimney swept, fit the whole thing, then get it inspected? Or does the chimney not need swept prior to fitting the liner?
Any thoughts appreciated :)
HappyBob
Legendary Laner

Re: Installing a wood burning stove

Post by HappyBob »