Chickens Stopped Laying

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
Colin
Learner Laner

Chickens Stopped Laying

Post by Colin »

)hlp>
hi hope someome can help. I got my 2 chicken when they were about one. they are ex battery. they some layed nearly every day for about 15 months. 3 months ago they slowed down, now they lay very rearly. Is this sign they are not well or are they just too old ,they are still only 2 and a half years old ?. But for not laying they seem very well and happy to me.

confused>

redd_angel55
Legendary Laner

Re: Chickens Stopped Laying

Post by redd_angel55 »

Hi Colin, I've got no personal experience with ex batts, but from what I know, their bodies have been exploited for their entire battery life. They had artificial lighting to encourage laying all year round and the confinement of the cages probably did the rest.
Eggs are a bonus when you have ex batts. If you want a regular supply of eggs, get a couple of Point-of-Lay hybrids )t'
Slave to 3 children, 1 Greyhound, 1 Cat, 4 rescued hens and a very patient hubby x
R.I.P: Ellie, Phoebe, Tikka

Freshstart for hens collection point Aylesbury, Bucks
p.penn

Post by p.penn »

Hello Colin.

I shouldn't think they are ill at all if they look OK. When you get ex batts it is always a lottery as to whether they will ever lay again as they have been 'egged out' so to speak!

15 months of laying sounds a good run to me. I got 2 ex free rangers last year and they are only laying occasionally this year, actually rarely really.

One small thought - have you checked for red mite as they can go off lay for a while if you have that in your coop?
Helen xx

3 children, 3 grandchildren, 3 chooks, 3 fish, a shrimp that thinks its a prawn and a dappy dog.
http://www.acountrygrandma.blogspot.com
urban-chickens
Lively Laner

Post by urban-chickens »

I would say its just down to the age poor things
Tia maria
Lively Laner

Post by Tia maria »