Newbie with 9-5 job...

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
wibble5
Learner Laner

Newbie with 9-5 job...

Post by wibble5 »

Hi there everyone, I'm new to chicken keeping (as in I haven't got them yet, but have lined up next weekend for the big day) - just a question regarding how to keep them happy and comfortable when I'm at work 9-5 weekdays.

Getting a couple of chickens was something I and my partner had thought of doing for the past couple of years, and we were on the point of getting them when he suddenly passed away a couple of weeks ago. But I decided that I'd still like some chickens to care for, as I'm sure they'd be great company, and he'd have wanted me to still get them. (We were going to call them Stella and Guinness, after our usual round down our local...)

I have a reasonably sized city backyard and a shed which is about 2m x 1m and 2m high (and which I've lovingly converted into a veritable chicken palace with perch, nesting box and special chicken door). Can I leave them in the shed for a few hours during the day until I get home, or would this be cruel? Would they get too hot in the summer? The shed's dry and pretty well ventilated with mesh to let the light in. I'm just a bit wary of leaving them wandering about the yard on their own while I'm not there, as although it's secure and the walls are about 7ft high, I don't know if they'd try to escape over them or whether a fox would come. Would it be possible to create a small temporary run out of netting when I'm out?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and sorry for going on so long!

Regards

Sam, Hull

morph
Longlasting Laner

Post by morph »

Hi there and welcome to the forum

You'll soon see that you'll be able to get lots of advice from people here, and they're really helpful.