Keeping chickens - logistical questions!

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
sunnyskies
Learner Laner

Keeping chickens - logistical questions!

Post by sunnyskies »

Hi all,

Thank you for a wonderful forum - I'm learning a lot about becoming more self-sufficient!

I have two logistical questions about keeping chickens. I'm a complete newbie so I'm sorry if these sound like very strange/basic questions:

- I can't really tell from what people say when they refer to not leaving chickens 'out' unless you're there to make sure a fox doesn't get them. Does that mean out free roaming, or out in the run? I do have a fox that likes my garden - I was thinking of getting the Ark from Omlet - but I work during the day. Would it be okay to let the chickens go out into the run while I'm not there, and when I come home from work, let them out free roaming while I sit with them?

- Very odd logistical question, but I have a long narrow garden with a strip of lawn, which I was going to use for the chickens. But I hang my washing above the lawn. Can I still do that?? Sorry. That seems odd but I'm just trying to work out the logistics!

Thank you!

sunny x

Totally Scrambled
Site Admin

Re: Keeping chickens - logistical questions!

Post by Totally Scrambled »

Morning Sunny,
Greetings and welcome to The Lane )wav(
Free ranging outside a protected run while you are not there is what people mean.
Just for info a lot of coops with runs attached are usually fine for the number of hens they quote as far as the coop is concerned but the runs attached are usually way too small. As a rule of thumb each chook really needs a minimum of 10 square feet of run space.