Egg laying stopped

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
Bluefinch
Lively Laner

Egg laying stopped

Post by Bluefinch »

My two hens have suddenly stopped laying. I have been getting two eggs a day since I had them as point of lays several months ago. Is it the time of year? Although I do wonder if they might be laying somewhere else in the garden as we have a visiting cockerel (another story) who did put them off laying in the coop for a few days. I am new to chicken keeping so learning as I go along. Love having them free range though.

Mo
Legendary Laner

Re: Egg laying stopped

Post by Mo »

Well it could be the time of year. Are they moulting? Or they could be 'laying out'. How about keeping them in for the morning, or putting another box somewhere and see what happens.
Quite often the number of eggs drops as the days get shorter.
Good Luck
Dance caller. http://mo-dance-caller.blogspot.co.uk/p/what-i-do.html
Sunny Clucker enjoyed Folk music and song in mid-Cheshire
Bluefinch
Lively Laner

Post by Bluefinch »

Thanks for your reply Mo. No they don't seem to be moulting. I am just surprised that they should both stop laying on the same day!
KarenE
Legendary Laner

Post by KarenE »

It is that time of year, especially if they are into or due a moult. Have a scout round the garden though as they could be laying somewhere else as Mo says. Or they may have decided that they are due a rest. Mine have all pretty much packed laying in, but the days are getting shorter, they are all moulting and they are all of that age where they will start slowing down a bit (mine are about 18 months - 2 years)
Karen
Alpha chick to: Smudge, Matisse and Bluebell
Chief servant to Marley the cat
Remembering Weeps, Rexie, Sage, Cassie, Toffee, Captain Gabby, Commander Nugget, Ronnie, Juno, Special Poetry and Reading Casper, Tigger, Tophenanall Rembrandt, Chestnut, Tiddly, Willow, Mango, Coco, Dorian Grey and Pokey.