Mo and the Rockers

Start your own thread and let us follow you through the year
Mo
Legendary Laner

Mo and the Rockers

Post by Mo »

I've just realised that I've been keeping hens for 10 years now (well, ten years and a month).
23 hens, over 9 thousand eggs.

The first 3 were a white star and 2 black rocks.
Then a 'little red hen' RI hybrid and a couple of chunky 'dual purpose' hens - maran hybrids, on blue and one buff.
4 more brown hybrids before I found another supplier for Black Rocks (the first chap had retired and his nephew didn't stock them.
A long journey to get 3 Black Rocks, I wasn't impressed with the way he handed them to me - 2 in one hand, upside down. They were kept in a wire cage on a frame, fair amount of room but not free ranging. And although they were sold as point of lay the first took 4 weeks, the other two 8 weeks before there were any eggs.
So next time I found a supplier of Block Rocks near Nantwich and started buying from there. I've been happy with Creag Mhor, and gone back a couple of times.
Up till this point I'd been keeping then in an arc inside a flocknet which I moved round the orchard. But this bunch decided they were not going to stay in, and they'd rather roost in trees.
So we found nothing but feathers and one lone hen one morning.

Time to build a Walk-in run. It took time to plan and build and meanwhile the singleton was kept in the arc with a small roofed extension made of flocknet, and moved more frequently.
Dance caller. http://mo-dance-caller.blogspot.co.uk/p/what-i-do.html
Sunny Clucker enjoyed Folk music and song in mid-Cheshire

Mo
Legendary Laner

Re: Mo and the Rockers

Post by Mo »

continued
Autumn '11 she and her new friends moved into the run. At the end of winter there was still some grass, so I was hopeful that we'd made it big enough. But then we had a wet summer and winter and acres of mud.