Jo's diary 2013

Forgot what happened last year - maybe it's here!!
chickenjo
Lively Laner

Jo's diary 2013

Post by chickenjo »

Hi all,

Well I'm relatively new to all of this. Every year I buy herbs and plants and usually kill them. But this year I'm serious. I've bought a small greenhouse, pots, the lot. And, after having seen Jannie's diary entry, I decided to visit eBay and bought myself a load of seeds (I did get rather carried away).

I've set aside an area of the garden and this year I will keep the hens in their pen and not give in to cute googly eyes which led to the demise of both my potatoes and borlotti beans last year. They will only be out under strict supervision.

And so I thought to help me, I'd keep a diary on here. This weekend I plan to set up the greenhouse (if the snow doesn't visit) and begin potting up my broad beans. I'm rather excited about it all. I'm also going wildlife friendly for the front garden and have bought some red sunflower seeds which seem a little different and a wildlife mix to sow along the side of the house which faces onto the path and so can't really be used for much as most likely some yobs will use it as a litter bin. But wildflowers don't cost much and I may have some success.

So wish me luck and I'm going to attempt to keep writing! Oh, and here's a picture of the grand seed collection so far.
http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/251666_10152613559525503_1938127249_n.jpg
1 tolerant husband, 2 lazy but crazy shibas (Dali and Yoshi), countless fish and shrimp and 3 (soon to be 4) cheerful chooks: Eleanor the prissy pekin, Anastasia the warbling wyandotte, and Georgiana the rock chick.

Rehomed after being reared as chicks: Ginger (he was actually a boy) and Marilyn who are now frolicking in someone else's garden!