Poo/Litter

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
Mulluc37
Lively Laner

Poo/Litter

Post by Mulluc37 »

Hi All,

I am new to chicken keeping, although I did research it for months, driving myself mad, with whats what etc, so much conflicting information. Anyway, I scoop the poop out of the house & run everyday, and in the process have to replace the wood chippings daily, I seem to be getting through tons of the stuff, is this normal? I have read a lot about ammonia/dirty coopd etc annd want all of my ladies to be as healthy and comfortable as possible, am I doing the right thing? I also change the water twice a day, OH says this is unneccesary, is it?? Also last night to my absolute horror, my OH said to leave the vent open on the coop, I was worried my poor girls would be freezing ( although it isnt actually all that cold) byt they were fine this morning . Is it ok to be leaving the vent open for them??

Any help greatly appreciated,

Many Thanks from an over anxious chicken keeper.
sharon. 1 very understanding OH, 5 kids, 1 English Bullmastiff, 1 Dogue de Bordeaux, 1 inherited Staffie Cross, 2 cats ,9 chickens, 1 cockerel 2 indian runner ducks, 3 Aylesbury Ducks and numerous fish.

Totally Scrambled
Site Admin

Re: Poo/Litter

Post by Totally Scrambled »

We just poo pick in the mornings and clean out completely once a week. We do quite a thick layer of bedding in the coop and, except when the weather is very wet, haven't had to top it up between clearouts.
They'll be fine without a water change, just top it up if it runs low/out.
Chooks suffer more from heat than cold so leaving the vent open is a good idea. We have a couple of Leghorns in our flock who roost in a tree within their run all year round and were perfectly healthy even during a week of sub zero temperatures.
Hope that's some help.
Dom
Ali Woks My World
redd_angel55
Legendary Laner

Post by redd_angel55 »

Hi and welcome to the Lane!