Midder's Bok Boks

Start your own thread and let us follow you through the year
Midders
Lively Laner

Midder's Bok Boks

Post by Midders »

I am brand new to this chicken keeping malarkey. My husband bought me a chicken coop for my birthday, we built it, I read endless books in a mild panic as I realised I knew nothing about chicken keeping, I just knew I wanted some chickens in our back garden!

I have had my girls for 3 weeks now. I adore them! I have a marigold called Mrs Kevin Cakes; An Amber called Sportacus; A little red ranger by the name of Incredible Red and a chestnut ranger called Batchick. I should point out that they were named by my 3 year old son who is rather keen on Super heros!

The chickens don't seem to mind my children, my rather enthusiastic children. I limit the time the kids spend with them so as not to stress them and I am always there to supervise. the kids love feeding them and talk to them , it is delightful, just what I hoped for.The girls are 18 weeks old now and 2 of them are getting really tame, the rangers are a bit more stand of fish but they are getting more used to me by the day- especially when I manage to get out without the kids in tow.

Yesterday we had our first egg! It was a momentous occasion. A beautiful little white egg sitting in the nesting box that I only really opened to clear poop from. I think it was Sportacus that laid it. We poached it and my husband , I and the kids shared it for breakfast this morning. When I opened the nesting box today, there was egg number 2. Same small, perfectly formed little egg as yesterday. We are on a roll!

kitla
Legendary Laner

Re: Midder's Bok Boks

Post by kitla »

Sounds like your chooks are already a part of your family!
"He who is cruel to animals becomes hard also in his dealings with men. We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals."
--Immanuel Kant
Linda S
Legendary Laner

Post by Linda S »