Ducks

Bantams, Turkeys, Pigs, Sheep and whatever
davina112
Legendary Laner

Ducks

Post by davina112 »

I am thinking about getting a couple of call ducks, I have no experience of duck but have had my chickens for a little over 3 years. So how many ducks should I get, are they like chickens, needing to be in a flock ? Is 2 ok or should I ideally get more ? Are there introduction problems like with hens. Will they live happily in a chicken coup, not in with chickens but in that type of coup as I gave a spare ?
Thanks
[center][/center]Davina
kitla
Legendary Laner

Re: Ducks

Post by kitla »

Sorry I don't know much about ducks but I thought you may not have spotted this post
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=49894#p702794" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"He who is cruel to animals becomes hard also in his dealings with men. We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals."
--Immanuel Kant
rainy
Learner Laner

Post by rainy »

Hi
ducks will want company of their own kind so get at least two and limit your males. They dont have a pecking order like chickens are are much more sociable with each other so you dont get the squabbling that you get with introducing new hens.
Ducks can live in a coop but it needs to be low down/ ground level with plenty of head room and space to walk in freely - a pop hole will be too small.
They make a lot of mud and need a pond - it is unfair to keep ducks without one.
You'll get plenty of eggs.
Ive had ducks and chickens for 12 years.
davina112
Legendary Laner

Post by davina112 »

Hi Rainy
Thanks for the info.
I have quite a big pond, so no problem there.
I am looking at some call ducks as I understand they are small.
I have been offered 2 pairs, would they be ok together or is 2 males to 2 females too much ?
I have 2 spare coops, one has quite a big door, which I think should be ok, are they able to get up a small ramp or not ?
Sorry, soooooo many questions :-D