Pickled Beetroot

Recipes, Cooking tips and maybe some 'Home Made' secrets !
kate egg
Legendary Laner

Pickled Beetroot

Post by kate egg »

Does anyone know how long I should leave it to mature after pickling? It is the first time I have grown and pickled my own beetroot. Only made 2 jars so far as the rest in the plot isn't ready but I was too impatient to try it :-D
Homemade
Legendary Laner

Re: Pickled Beetroot

Post by Homemade »

Beetroot is usually ready quickly. A week should be fine.
Quand je serai vieille je vais vivre en France
Sunny Clucker, she came, she saw, she moved on!
kate egg
Legendary Laner

Post by kate egg »

Thanks, I did try a piece yesterday and it seemed good. I made chutney a few weeks ago and know that needs a month or so to mature, it tastes oretty horrible and strong vinegary at first but mellows down.
Benny&Co
Project Hedgehog Leader

Post by Benny&Co »

Hey Kate, it's my first year of growing beetroot too and I've also pickled some.

Think it was about a month ago, still tastes pretty pungent though >dum<

Not to worry, I love beetroot, it's one of my favourites )eat(
Bev x
Our family: my-Lovely-Hubbly and I, Benny and our two little Ladies - Betty and Gloria.

RIP dear little Ladies - Lottie, Cottie, Elsie, Dottie, Hilda and Margie. You may have gone, but are never ever forgotten.
kate egg
Legendary Laner

Post by kate egg »

I made spiced vinegar a couple of weeks prior to pickling, it has allspice and cinnamon amongst other things in it and I can taste this faintly but it isn't unpleasant. Am fairly decided that I will use the clear vinegar next time I think it is milder than malt.
Benny&Co
Project Hedgehog Leader

Post by Benny&Co »

Ah righty ho Kate, good for you )t' I just used a jar of pickling vinegar :-D but you've given me ideas for next time :-D
Bev x
Our family: my-Lovely-Hubbly and I, Benny and our two little Ladies - Betty and Gloria.