HELP COMPUTER PROBLEM

Share projects, share problems, share tips amongst each other.
Maggie1

HELP COMPUTER PROBLEM

Post by Maggie1 »

Just lately my main computer doesn't always start when you turn it on. It says theres no power (our laptops are working fine) When I finally get into it I can be working on something and everything ceases and it crashes out.
Today I decided to put a virus (Avast) killer through it. It went through the scan fine and then it came up with a message that I had got a serious problem with Stop Drive or Blue Screen. Problem is it had ceased with this message over the solution to the problem and I don't know what to do.
Anybody out there that can help. With nice easy simpleton instructions though as I'm not that good with technical terms
Knikitta
Longlasting Laner

Re: HELP COMPUTER PROBLEM

Post by Knikitta »

Firstly - What exactly 'says' it has no power?

Second - Virus scanners like Avast are not really very good, and if its a power problem, then no virus scanner will help :P

Lastly... Would it be possible to take a screen shot of your messages that you are gettings? You can do this by hitting the Print Screen key and then opening something like Paint and pressing CTRL + V at the same time.

This will paste your 'print screen' into Paint so you can save the image to show us all.
I swear I'll have a permanent imprint of my palm over my face from reading forums.
Raven
Lively Laner

Post by Raven »

2 possibilities I can think of, first being your power supply (the PSU inside the computer) is on its way out. This is a fault you see a lot on older models that have been upgraded, or on less expensive models where they use a lower rated PSU to save costs. The only real option is to replace the PSU if that's the case.

The other is a virus, but tbh if it is Avast should've killed it. Did you have any antivirus software installed before the problem started? If not then the virus theory becomes more solid...
In frith,
Raven