allotment paths

Flowers, Trees, Lawns, Infrastructures, Maintenance & anything else!
fox1028
Lively Laner

allotment paths

Post by fox1028 »

Hi i got really bad bramble over grown allotment last april (i'm new to allotment keeping).I got it all cleared and got a few plots growing a few veg.I'm planning 5 new plots this yr if poss, the planting what and where is sorted.My problem is i want proper working path's.I read up on paths but keep changing my mind which would be the best way to go.My allotment is fairly boggy at min. I'm a woman and altho not scared of the hard work of allotment keeping (it's mainly me as hubby and kids have no intrest) i'm not good and D I Y (altho i was quite proud of my herb/fruit raised bed i made last yr).what is the easiest and best paths (i have 6 or seven pallots which i could try and break up and use) for allotments ?. >mmm<
family= 1 hubby, 3 kids, 3 cockatiels, 1 dog,3 guinea pigs, 1 rabbit,2 hamsters, 11 ex batts ,2 magpie hens,2 bluebell hens and 1 hen that addopted me.
Mallard
Legendary Laner

Re: allotment paths

Post by Mallard »

Paths are quite a bone of contention on our plots, and recent new insurance rules have made the committee jump on people who don't keep them up to scratch!
The best of course are flag stones, but unless you can get some cheap or via freecycle, they're expensive. yike*
You could use wood chip; I have on small paths, but it soon disappears into the mud!
Most of ours are grass, some even sow a little grass seed. I got hold of some hefty pallets for the sides of mine, but I have strips of old carpet down now to cover the mud!

I notice on new sites the paths should be 1.5 metres wide, to allow wheelchair access! :?
I'd like to live as a poor man with lots of money.
- Pablo Picasso
rhubarb93
Legendary Laner

Post by rhubarb93 »

I spent ages ferrying woodchip onto my paths a couple of years ago, and was most disappointed when it disappeared within what seemed like a few months!