So many breeds and hybrids, which to get?

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
mariat
Lively Laner

So many breeds and hybrids, which to get?

Post by mariat »

I'm sure this must have been asked before, but could I have some recommendations for breeds/hybrids? I have kept some LF breeds before, Light Sussex, Welsummer etc., but had to rehome them as the dog I had at the time had a taste for them. He has now passed away, so I would love to keep chooks again. Not sure I want to go for pure breeds again, although I am open to suggestions, partly because money is tight and pure breeds are expensive. Ideally I would like LF birds which are hardy, good layers and docile. Non flighty would be good too. Also, does anyone know of breeders who may have Point-of-Lay hens around the Norfolk area?

Bren200
Lively Laner

Re: So many breeds and hybrids, which to get?

Post by Bren200 »

Hi, I am new to hen keeping. I have 7 hybrids & all are friendly. I have light Sussex & suffolks. All from one breeder in bury st Edmunds
Linda S
Legendary Laner

Post by Linda S »

Hi Mariat and wellcome to the lane )wav(
Right then i cant do links but if you look across the top of this page and click onto the orange box tittled chicken keeping thats the main forum. On the left hand side i think its the 4th one down Richard has compiled a list tittled Chicken and Poultry Breeders UK you will prob find some on there . )t'

I really need to learn to do links to save everyone from my waffling {rofwl} Linda >gl<
And then there was one, Again!!!!
Jemima
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Little Angels Free For Ever
Honey,Lizzi,Peggy-Mitchel,April,Hope,Faith,Blondie, Sorrel,Scarlet, Penny, Gabby, Rosie, Chick-a-Dee
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Remembering Our Beautiful Foster Boys we are so sorry that we couldn't keep you
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
silverback