Layers pellets and laying eggs

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
Gregg in exile
Lively Laner

Layers pellets and laying eggs

Post by Gregg in exile »

Hello,

I am new to keeping chickens, it is something I have wanted to do for years but never really got around to it until now. I have 6 chickens, 4 hybrids (Bluebelle, Sussex Star, Skyline x 2) which are about 20 weeks old and 2 Araucanas which are 18 weeks old.

However, I have a few questions.

1. They seem to eat everything in the garden and in the run EXCEPT the layers pellets, which they only eat in small amounts. The leftover sweet potato, cabbage, potato, spinach etc plus the mixed corn and the stuff they find in my raised beds (they were full of Poppys last year, probably never again) seems to mean they don't eat anything else. Is this normal?

2. They always sleep together in the nest box, this drives me crazy. Should I clean it out every day?

3. I've read that if I leave it to mid-morning to let them out they may be encouraged to lay eggs in the nest box. Is this right?

4. Now, I know it is cold at the moment, but when can I expect an egg?

5. How old can these ladies get to?

Thanks for the help! I think I am hooked already!
Thanks,

Gregg

The keeper of: 3 Hybrids - Skyline (Green eggs), Light Sussex (Light brown), Bluebelle (Light brown)
4 Pure Breeds - Araucanas x 2 (Blue), Partridge Leghorn (White), Maran (very dark brown). All live in a giant run at the end of the garden.

Chookaholic
Longlasting Laner

Re: Layers pellets and laying eggs

Post by Chookaholic »

hiya Greg and welcome !

Make sure for the first part of the day they only have access to pellets so they get what they need. also if theyre not laying yet they shouldnt have layers pellets as theres a lot of calcium in them . My chooks if given the chance will eat anything bar the pellets so i dont treat until after 3pm