Is feeding chicken to chickens (leftovers)....

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
Emmamoo
Lively Laner

Post by Emmamoo »

Seen as cannibalism?

I know its daft but I gave em all my veg but kept back the chicken as I had this horrible though about my girls going savage like that film Ravenous.....only kidding but hey is it wrong to feed em their own?
****Emma****

...Ever the optimist!

Citrine
Legendary Laner

Post by Citrine »

I think its not acceptable - DEFRA guidelines say not to feed poultry/fowl any meat, particularly pork

Gedda
Emmamoo
Lively Laner

Post by Emmamoo »

I would like to point out that i haven't fed them meat! Methinks my humour was missed here somewhat....
****Emma****

...Ever the optimist!
Citrine
Legendary Laner

Post by Citrine »

Sorry, sorry, its only cos I'm new to it all, and I suppose I just presume that everyone is as daft as me!!!

:oops:
Emmamoo
Lively Laner

Post by Emmamoo »

I just had a daft thought to myself earlier when giving my girls the leftover kebabs - KIDDING! just gave em carrots etc and wondered about the whole savage chicken thing. Guess I must have smoked to much stuff in my teens eh....
****Emma****

...Ever the optimist!
Citrine
Legendary Laner

Post by Citrine »

...seeing as we're talking about Chook nosh, I (vaguely) remember my Grandad always cooked the veg peels etc before he gave it to his girlies - should I be doing that, or is raw OK????
wendy

Post by wendy »

my girls have cooked veg. Simply because I get the left overs from a friend who has a restuarant.
They do eat a little protein ie worms, mealworms. But I think about BSE caused through feeding meat to cattle, and as has been said DEFRA says not to do it, for the same reason I think
Wendy
http://www.busheyk9.co.uk

If you can't be a good example........
you will just have to be a horrible warning
AnnaB
Legendary Laner

Post by AnnaB »

Hi Geddauk