First time

Discuss, share and chat about all things relating to keeping Chickens including health issues
chestermanlee
Learner Laner

First time

Post by chestermanlee »

Hi

This is my first post but i am a frequent visitor. I am new to keeping hens, we have had our 2 Cream Legbars, 2 White leghorns and a Buff Orpington for three weeks.

Amazing how attached you get in such a short time and what good fun.

The 2 Legbars and Orpington have not layed in the 3 weeks we have had them. I am presuming that its the time of year. The Leghorns layed until 4 days ago then stopped, we were getting an egg every other day. I think they are moulting but i am not sure. Yes they are losing feathers and look a bit rough but they are eating really well and everything else seems fine.

The other hens dont seem to be moulting, do they moult at different times and is it every year.

how long should a moult last for, should they lay again after the moult and if they have stopped for the winter when should they start again.

Lots of questions, i have saved them all up.

Thanks

silverback
Legendary Laner

Re: First time

Post by silverback »

Hi There, and welcome in from the Dark!... )t'
Moulting will affect egg production, as the protein they eat to produce eggs gets diverted to producing new feathers. It maybe an idea to increase their protein levels during the moult, mealworms or maggots )t' .
Not to sure about how long moults last, might vary from chook to chook, someone will give you the answer... )t'
I am old and wise, because I was young and stupid!.
Annie
Project Hedgehog Leader

Post by Annie »